Calgary as a destination for wedding photography

I recently returned from a trip to Kelowna and found myself really inspired by the new surroundings. We had a lots of places to choose from, and even though the weather was a mixed bag, we still had a great time. It got me to thinking as to why I love shooting in Calgary.

The city I call home, and have for most of my life (except for a brief university-related hiatus to Victoria), is an amazing place to work and live. We have a beautiful river valley that runs the course of the city, giving us lots of places to access the natural wild environment, surrounded by cityscapes of all shapes and sizes. We also have some amazing parks scattered throughout the city, including Confederation, Riley, Stanley, and Edworthy just to name a few.

When a shoot calls for a more urban look, Calgary has everything from turn of the century sandstone buildings to ultra modern sky scrapers. In the span of a couple blocks you can be shooting red brick and black wrought iron to brushed aluminum and polished concrete. Top picks for shooting areas in the city include Inglewood, Bridgeland, and the oft forgotten Beltline.

If that weren’t enough, we also have the rocky mountains as a backdrop for those late afternoon shoots at the various high points in the city. I pull out my long lens and reel those mountains in. In addition, the numerous farm fields of various crops, rustic barns, and weathered machinery make for great locations just minutes from the core.

One thing that Calgary has in heaps is unpredictable weather. Being on the east side of the impressive rocky mountains, and surrounded by undulating foothills, we are subject to some really impressive weather systems throughout the year. It’s not uncommon for us to experience freezing snow and cooking sunshine all in a matter of hours. Above all, I have to say I love the rich blue sky we get. I often find myself pulling out the wide angle lens to include my couple along with that punch of colour and smattering of clouds.

I consider myself fortunate to be able to shoot here year round. Don’t get me wrong, I do love to travel, but there’s nothing quite like Calgary to call home.

Leave a Reply

